Halsey’s Eating Disorder Photo Shared, Led to a Public Apology

USdayNEWS
3 min readDec 29, 2020

--

Halsey’s eating disorder photo was shared and although the singer insisted that there are “positive intentions” behind it, frenzy on social media forced her to apologize!

The story started when she posted a topless photo of herself that acknowledged her eating disorder on Twitter on Monday after being asked by a fan.

The fan asked the Bad at Love singer to share a photo of “you at your lowest point”. She responded to the request by sharing a mirror selfie of her bare body, writing: “ TW: ED, ask for help.” The photos were later deleted.

Nevertheless, the Halsey’s eating disorder pic did not sit well with many and users reacted widely after which she was forced to apologize.

On Monday, Dec. 28, the 26-year-old tweeted: “I am very sorry for posting a photo of myself depicting my struggle with ED without a sufficient trigger warning. I was very nervous to post it and didn’t think properly. I had positive intentions. I would never want to harm someone who shares my struggle.”

“with that being said im gonna log off now because this has turned into something I am not emotionally equipped to handle for the time being. I hope that’s okay (sic),” Halsey added.

Reactions to Halsey’s Eating Disorder Photo Cause Singer’s Distance from Social Media

Also, immediately after the incident American singer-songwriter stated that she was going to take some distance from social media. “With that being said im gonna log off now because this has turned into something I am not emotionally equipped to handle for the time being. I hope that’s okay,” she continued.

The New Jersey native, born Ashley Nicolette Frangipane, has been so brave to opening up about her physical and mental health issues. In the past, she said that she is not ashamed of her suffering from an eating disorder and has sought help for it since becoming famous. ‘It’s still happening in my body. I just know when to get in front of it,’ she told in an interview last year.

“I was very nervous to post it and didn’t think properly. I had positive intentions. I would never want to harm someone who shares my struggle,” she wrote about her intention about posting the nude photo.

The hitmaker additionally replied to a bunch of Instagram photo challenges such as ‘pink wig Halsey’, ‘a photo you can’t explain’, and ‘you in New York’.

She also shared a behind-the-scenes photo from a video of Forget Me Too, a collaboration with Machine Gun Kelly released in September.

There were photos from a trip to Turkey and from a LA Lakers game too.

Halsey’s Changing Name Story

As you may know, Halsey’s real name is Ashley Frangipane and she explained about choosing Halsy as her name: “Me wanting to do this was so far fetched, and the fact that I changed my name in the process — I think I had the foresight to know that being me wasn’t enough. I had to become somebody completely different.”

“At the time, I felt that Ashley didn’t deserve to be famous and successful because she wasn’t that special, but if I made Halsey, maybe she could be,” the beloved singer added.

Halsey who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder also previously confessed to being “committed” twice since becoming famous. She said: “No one’s known about it. But I’m not ashamed of talking about it now … It’s been my choice.”

Originally published at https://usdaynews.com on December 29, 2020.

--

--

USdayNEWS

Get the trending news of celebrities and their rumors, entertainment, crime breaking stories, and U.S. daily important events from US day News