Daisy Coleman’s Suicide, Sad End for Daisy Documentary Star

USdayNEWS
4 min readAug 6, 2020

--

Unfortunately, Audrie & Daisy star Daisy Coleman’s suicide caused her death at the age of 23 her mother Melinda has confirmed on Tuesday night time.

Audrie & Daisy star Daisy Coleman’s suicide caused her death
TMZ

Daisy Coleman was one of the girls featured in the Netflix documentary Audrie and Daisy, which discussed a number of rape cases. The film, directed by Bonni Cohen and Jon Shenk, premiered at the 2016 Sundance Film Festival.

In a piece of painful news, Daisy Coleman mum Melinda Coleman told the media outlet her young daughter took her own life.

Following Daisy Coleman’s suicide, her dead body was discovered after Melinda asked police to do a welfare check.

Melinda said: “She was my best friend and amazing daughter.

“My daughter Catherine Daisy Coleman committed suicide tonight. If you saw crazy/messages and posts it was because I called the police to check on her. She was my best friend and amazing daughter,” Melinda wrote. “I think she had to make it seem like I could live without her. I can’t. I wish I could have taken the pain from her! She never recovered from what those boys did to her and it’s just not fair. My baby girl is gone.”

In 2016 Daisy appeared in Netflix documentary Audrie & Daisy where she discussed her experience of being raped at a high school party.

She was a sweetheart girl who co-founded SafeBAE, an organization with the mission of ending sexual assault among middle and high school students, as well as helping survivors.

SafeBAE has announced that they are devastated by Daisy Coleman’s suicide and have “suffered an irreplaceable loss”.

Daisy Coleman never recovered from being raped experience

Daisy was 14-years-old in January 2012 when she was sexually assaulted at a house party in Missouri, after being plied with alcohol, though nobody was ever sentenced.

Audrie & Daisy focused on how Daisy and her family and friends came up with the mental trauma of the assault and the rejection they felt by their community afterward.

Daisy opened up of being taunted and harassed both at school and online.

Her heartbroken mother said she ‘never recovered’ from what she faced with.

“She never recovered from what those boys did to her and it’s just not fair. My baby girl is gone,” she said.

Daisy explained in 2017: ‘After my case went viral I took a break for a while, but during that time period I noticed a lot of other victims and survivors had come forward. ‘Seeing me doing it so publicly, I felt like that gave them a space to tell their own story and I was really inspired by that.’

Daisy told how she ‘did not cope well’ following the incident and felt ‘very negative’ towards herself. However, she continued: ‘I feel no resentment towards my attacker only because I have come to realise that he was only passing on some form of negativity to me which at some point was passed onto him so once I came to that realization… that made me forgive him in a sense even though he never presented an apology.’

Audrie & Daisy star Daisy Coleman’s suicide caused her death
Trendy Cow

Daisy Coleman story was full of tragedies

The family endured another tragedy last year when Daisy’s younger brother died in a car accident.

Then her father passed away in a car accident too.

The Coleman had originally moved to Missouri after their father died in a car accident.

For emotional support, you can call the Samaritans 24-hour helpline on 116 123, email jo@samaritans.org, visit a Samaritans branch in person, or go to the Samaritans website.

Daisy Coleman’s later suicide attempt

Coleman was raped at a party in Maryville, Missouri, in January 2012, when she was 14-years-old. Her perpetrator was never convicted. She was harassed online and at school after the rape, which made national headlines.

Daisy Coleman on Jan 7, 2014, when she was a teenage girl at the center of the controversial Maryville rape case was hospitalized after she attempted suicide.

Daisy Coleman might be left with brain damage after an attempt to kill herself by drug overdose, according to her mother, Melinda.

However, she survived that time but not for the second time.

Article Source: https://usdaynews.com/

--

--

USdayNEWS

Get the trending news of celebrities and their rumors, entertainment, crime breaking stories, and U.S. daily important events from US day News